So it's been a while since I've posted!
Well today I went to Annecy with some of my friends to do some shopping! Thank goodness because I really need more clothes haha. (I bought a blue sweater, a pink shirt, and a rosy tank-top.) I am still in dire need of more sweaters, gloves, and closed-toe shoes.
It's kind of difficult hanging around with my friends though, because they all speak Spanish! They're all from Bolivia, Argentina, or Mexico. They all speak some English, but I think that they prefer their native language. In a way it's good, because I can learn Spanish too this year!
French is getting pretty good for me. I still can't have a really smooth conversation, but I can always understand what's going on... except in class.
School-wise, there was "la greve" last Thursday, which means that some of the teachers went on strike to change the retirement age from 63 to 67. It's a controversial topic, and I'll be having a few days off school this year because of it.
My next (and first!) school vacation is the last week of October, and my family might take me to Italy, but nothing's certain yet!
I'm having a great time, despite my homesickness, and everybody is really nice and generous!

Thanks for keeping posted! :)

Sami
mommy
9/25/2010 01:56:06 pm

hi sweetie, love hearing about your fun times there! what girl wouldn't want to go shopping in france! sorry for this short note.....my typing is very hampered by this broken hand of mine.
love, mommy

Reply
Dad
9/29/2010 03:06:04 am

Ola,

Great update- we need more pictures! I am in sunny, windy, and cold Bethel now (-5 C). Great seeing my Bethel buddies as well as Kevin and Pam. Their grandkids are doing OK, but they aren't in France like you are! I will send some pictures when I get back home this week- bandwidth here in Bethel is very limited. Love, dad

Reply



Leave a Reply.